Seeds

It was freezing today — flakes of snow in the air, down-coat sort of cold — so I’m glad to report I did no outdoor planting. I bought Miracle Gro Potting Mix and planting some soon to be seedlings for some of the plants that have longer growing seasons and are tender.

I hate spending money on dirt but the bags of soil we have were bone dry and didn’t look like they would be conducive to germination. The actual planting took about 45 minutes but there were countless hours of a toddler getting in the way and picking up the surprisingly high number of things he could hurt himself with. He did put dirt in a few of the seed trays so that counts as me being a nurturing mom, right?

I spent a lot of time sorting the seeds I bought from the local hardware store, deciding what to plant when. I planted 36 starts of the eggplant, tomato, and bell peppers. The cilantro and basil got 27 starts and the 100 Hybrid cherry tomatoes only had enough seeds for about 18 starts.

I’m hoping to keep some of the basil and cilantro inside and plant the rest in a raised bed when the time comes.

Thirty six eggplants sounds like a lot but I imagine some won’t make it to maturity. And we do have a seedling swap in mid-March I could take extras to.

So excited to have actually planted things. I hope the warm air and moisture-trapping enclosure will help the seeds grow.

Next will be some of the cold hardy plants like my kale and peas directly into a bed with a plastic cover.

Newly planted: 100 Hybrid tomato, best boy tomato, black beauty eggplant, red bell pepper, cilantro, basil

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

